2017-18 Student-Athletes Honored at Tartar Awards Banquet

2017-18 Student-Athletes Honored at Tartar Awards Banquet

Photo Album

Compton, Calif.- Football's Gregory Filer III and softball's Riah Nunley were named the Sophomores of the Year at the annual Tartar Athletics awards banquet held in the Tartar Gymnasium on Thursday evening. The end-of-the-year celebration commemorated the achievements of Compton Collegestudent-athletes over the course of the 2017-18 academic year.

Filer, who signed with Montana State to continue his football career, was named Region IV All-State First Team Defense. Nunley also has signed with Jarvis Christian College (Texas) and was named All-South Coast Conference South Second Team.

The night kicked off by honoring all of the postseason award winners and those who have already signed to continue on to four-year institutions. Twenty-eight student-athletes in their respective sports earned postseason honors, while seven have signed agreements to continue competition.

Six student-athletes were honored for their work in the classroom, boasting the highest grade point averages on their respective squads, while exhausting their eligiblity at the two-year level.

Freshmen Julissa Gamboa (women's soccer) and Billy Sanchez (baseball) were named Rookies of the Year, while Nunley and sophomore L'kielynn Taylor (men's basketball) earned Performance of the Year honors. Nunley blasted a pair of home runs in two different games, while Taylor posted back-to-back triple-doubles in conference play this season.

The night was capped by honoring men's soccer's Ivan Vasquez who was named Most Inspirational after overcoming a number of obstacles to walk at graduation this year. 

The Tartars had much to celebrate in 2017-18, and the program is looking forward to an even better 2018-19.

2018 Tartar Athletics Award Winners:

David Cooper, Football
Brian Araux, Men’s Soccer
Jasmin Hill, Women’s Soccer
Chris Townsell, Men’s Basketball
Alexandro Rodriguez, Baseball
Beatriz Herrera, Softball

Rookie of the Year
Julissa Gamboa, Women's Soccer
Billy Sanchez, Baseball 

Sophomore of the Year
Riah Nunley, Softball
Gregory Filer III, Football

Performance of the Year
Riah Nunley, Softball
L'kielynn Taylor, Men's Basketball

Coach of the Year
Amanda Evans, Women's Soccer
Keith Higgins, Men's Basketball

Team of the Year
Women's Soccer
Men's Soccer

Tartar Award
Carina Perez, Women's Soccer
Danny Hernandez, Baseball

Special Recognition Award
Marilyn Vaughn, Accounting Technician

Most Inspirational Award
Ivan Vasquez, Men's Soccer